Caroline François-Rubino  
 
see work windows
 

The window as a transitional space and a source of light opens up new perspectives. It enables us to travel through space, from what is near to what is far away, from the known to the unknown, to fix multiple images and to perceive with a special intensity our relationship with the world and thus with time. The window reveals what is not necessarily visible.
Its structure, its separations, its panes, its transparency and its capacity to be either shut, open, or half-open provide never-ending ways of seeing and limitless variations. The window offers fixed, well-defined images as well as more fleeting visual impressions, thanks to reflections and the irregularity of the glass. Windows can sometimes be mirrors, sometimes screens or even kaleidoscopes. Our eyes are drawn to them and stimulated by them.

Ever since Alberti’s famous metaphor, the quadrilateral canvas has always been a kind of window, but perspective imposes a fixed vision and both the artist and the beholder must remain motionless. However, our visual perception, when we walk for example, is multiple and infinite. It stretches out into a time which is not linear, the eye being able to take in several “visions” almost simultaneously, to note surroundings or to stop at details, to go back, look at the horizon, lose itself in the sky or follow the chosen path closely.

Returning to the window is therefore like standing at a crossroads so as to explore the landscape better and to restore the blurred, fragmentary perception which our eyes cannot retain. It is also an attempt to capture the eye of the observer to take him further, and for as long as possible, on a journey through light, colour and transparency.

 
Caroline François-Rubino

Caroline François-Rubino  
 
voir les oeuvres fenêtres
 

La fenêtre comme espace de transition, comme passage et comme source de lumière est un révélateur. Elle permet d’aller du proche au lointain, du connu à l’inconnu, du délimité à l’infini, de s’approprier des images multiples et de percevoir avec une acuité particulière notre rapport au monde et par conséquent au temps. Elle révèle ce qui ne nous est pas forcément visible.
Sa structure, son réseau, ses carreaux, sa transparence, son dispositif (fermé / ouvert  / entrouvert) lui confèrent une infinité de visions possibles, de variations et de variantes. Elle peut offrir des images fixes et définies comme des impressions visuelles plus évanescentes, elle joue de ses reflets ou de l’irrégularité de sa matière; parfois miroir, parfois paravent, ou encore kaléidoscope, elle provoque le regard et le stimule.  

Depuis la célèbre métaphore d’Alberti, le tableau, ce quadrilatère, n’a cessé d’être une fenêtre, mais la vision perspective impose une fixité de l’image et une position immobile du peintre comme du spectateur. Pourtant, notre perception visuelle, lorsque nous marchons par exemple, est plurielle et infinie, elle se développe dans un temps qui n’est pas linéaire, l’oeil pouvant enregistrer plusieurs «visions» presque simultanément, embrasser les alentours ou s’arrêter aux détails, revenir en arrière ou scruter l’horizon, se perdre dans le ciel ou suivre de près le chemin tracé.

Revenir à la fenêtre, c’est donc se placer à la «croisée» des chemins pour mieux ensuite s’aventurer dans le paysage et en restituer la perception diffuse et fragmentée qui se perd dans notre regard, c’est aussi tenter de capter le propre regard du spectateur pour l’emmener le plus loin et le plus longtemps possible dans ce voyage à travers lumières, couleurs et transparences.

 
Caroline François-Rubino